RSS

A Geek’s Poem

10 Sep

I didn’t ask for fame
I didn’t ask for acknowledgment
I only want to play
with the language I’ve known for years

I didn’t ask for wealth
I didn’t ask for dignity
I only want pleasure
with the thing I’ve known as both friend and enemy

I asked for great mind
far greater than the world ever had
I asked for strong heart
far stronger than the earth itself

the taste is still there
the feel still warms my heart
how long will it stay?
how fast will it go?

it did hurt me sometimes
it did confuse me sometimes
but what lies beneath makes me smile
what goes beyond makes me grateful

as I see it no longer as a thing
as I call it no longer as a symbolic name
it becomes a friend of my days
a brother of my life

I’ll see how far it will go
how deep it will hurt
until I have my time alone with you
until you really tell me what’s the secret of your beauty
for that moment I’ll wait
no matter how long it takes…

Written January 18, 2007
During my stress-but-meaningful time with my old fella, Math (mathematics)

-L

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2010 in Poems

 

4 responses to “A Geek’s Poem

  1. Nathan Marcello

    September 10, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Some people would say that anyone who writes a poem is a geek. haha

     
  2. Lia Andriyani

    September 11, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    well…. that makes me a super geek then…. haha….

     
  3. Nathan Marcello

    September 11, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    I’ve written a few, but nothing good.

     
  4. Lia Andriyani

    September 11, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    haha… doesn’t really matter…. for me poem is a way to express feelings, so i don’t really care whether it’s good or not. as long as I’ve successfully pour out everything… haha… unless if you want to be a writer or a poet….

     

Leave a Reply

 
