RSS

July 17, 2009 (WE’LL GET STRONGER!!!!)

19 Jul

We had just had a blast…. Two indeed…. Literally. It was so unexpected hearing the news at the first time. I was in school when it happened. I didn’t know anything and didn’t hear anything until one of my friends messaged me asking for my location. She said that we (read: our country) were just hit by 2 bombs happened almost simultaneously, JW Marriot hotel and Ritz-Charlton hotel. I was so shocked, didn’t expect any of these happens AGAIN. We have just gone through quiet a long period of time to build ourselves up. It’s been 6 years since the last bombing and ever since that we have been striving a lot to convince the world that we are indeed as safe as any other place in the world. And then when things have gotten better, economics has started to crawl up BOOOMMM…… I was and am angry. Why on earth does somebody or some people do this kind of thing? It hurt us, as a nation, as a human, as a part of the world.

I am a 90’s person, lived my most years in 1990’s era. And if people asked me how was Indonesia back then when I was still a kid in primary school, I would say that my country is great. I didn’t really feel any pressure at all, I lived happily in my early years of life. Happily and safely until the May tragedy in 1998. Talking about May in this country, we will not forget about what happened more than 10 years ago. I might say that this is the start of everything. This is the start of LIFE. Before then I don’t really know that people can be that cruel. I was 10 years old when the May tragedy happened. I still remember how my parents were so protective to us, and didn’t allow us to go anywhere (not even to go to school). Everyone was afraid that their houses (including mine) would be attacked by some unknown groups. Yes, I am a Chinese-Indonesian, but the funny thing was that time when I was still a primary school student, I didn’t really like Chinese…. Perhaps it was because the majority of my classmates were not Chinese and I did have this kind of thought in my mind that the Chinese people are so arrogant, meaning they looked down on somebody else and treat themselves as the greater ones. That was why I can really be mad when some relatives of mine were talking bad about the non-Chinese. Usually they would reply back to me that I know nothing. That I don’t know how this country had treated the Chinese-Indonesian. Yeah, of course I didn’t know, the history back then didn’t say anything about the Indonesian-Chinese being bullied by the government both West government (read: Holland or VOC) and Indonesian government itself. I only knew that I have Indonesian-pribumi friends and they were and still are really good to me. So yah…. Kids’ mind can only handle up to that point…. That is by keeping the honor of my friends. And again suddenly all the faith that I have, all the morale foundation of PPKn or whatsoever it was, were torn to pieces burnt to dust by the act of those irresponsible people who started to mess around with the Indonesian-Chinese people by robbing our shops, houses and taking away the girls and women and even killed them in front of their families own eyes. Police? Did nothing…. President? Too busy to save his ass which eventually had to step down anyway. That was maybe my first anger to stand up for my community. Take note that this matter has not been resolved yet (honestly thinking it will not be resolved, since it might involved some great people in their time). Still, that time I couldn’t believe that the one who did that to us was all Indonesian-pribumi. I was really shocked because in my eyes all the pribumi I knew that time were all gentlemen and soft hearted people. My neighbors, my friends they all love me and my family. Should I put it in this way, start from that time when I dealt with strangers, I become more lenient to Indonesian-Chinese and be more alert to those non-Chinese. Because I was scared to be an Indonesian-Chinese…. But yeah…. Over years we as one big nation have become better. This in some or other way has proved that not all pribumi hates Indo-Chinese. In fact it makes me think that from the beginning, it wasn’t really based on the race thingy, it was just made to be like one. Have I already forgotten about that tragedy? I might say yes, but deep inside I know I am not really over it. This was maybe one of the reasons why a year ago I wrote an essay about the Indonesian-Chinese people in Indonesia for my History assessment. Because I, as a child that time still can’t understand why did that happen. And I believe that there are still many people out there who are still asking for an answer, an explanation of a betrayal to our belief of our country as a Bhinneka Tunggal Ika.

Then…. When we were striving to get that racist thingy out of our minds and trying to build up the trust brick by brick, we were shocked by the 9/11 attack. The one attack that the world will not forget forever. In fact, we are still haunted by that and it has changed the world ever since. In our country, it got worse because our churches were also hit by those people who claimed themselves as warriors of Islam. It’s a big nonsense…. I was a good student who learned my PPKn well and I know that no religion in this world teaches about hurting people. And for God’s sake…. There were also Muslim victims died in those bombings. Use your brain and do your math, you will know that you were actually killing your brothers and sisters by doing those crazy attacks. Will that get you into heaven? I will let your brain to answer that question. So once again…. The area of war had moved from race to religion. Hatred between Islam and West (should I say Christian), that’s what they claimed to be. But yeah…. Again, I don’t like if some little part of a BIG community claimed themselves to be THE community itself. Apparently they don’t really learn math very well that a subset is not equal to the whole set.

2-3 years after the 9/11 attack was very critical. Every little thing became very sensitive. And there were many bombings in our country since then until 2002-2003. The bombing of course mainly happened in favorite places like Bali and Jakarta. Took us many years to get healed by those incidents. Took us litters of our own sweats to yearn the trust from other country and even from our own people. But then again, those heartless people break our heart once more by what happened 2 days ago. However…. There is still a bright side of all these unfortunate events…. Remember a famous quote “what doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger”? It is actually happening in this country. Our country has gotten better. We are braver in the sense “lebih ga takut mati” or “lebih pasrah” (read: not really that scared anymore against the attacks or bombings). It was actually funny, because this is maybe due to our people that are being tired of so many attacks and so we started to treat that as part of our lives.

Despite of any reasons and excuses, we have to get up again. No matter how many times we fall down we have to get ourselves up and we will. I love my country and will forever do. We all do. An attack to even one inch of this country is an attack to the whole nation. We’ll get ourselves cool down and start our war legally. Again…. We will get stronger!!! I send my prayer and deepest condolences to all families who were just left by their beloved ones in all attacks happened in this country. I hope we all can get through this sooner than latter.

-L

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 19, 2009 in ShoutOut

 

Leave a Reply

 
