RSS

“Blame It On My Youth”

25 Apr

If, I expected love, when first we kissed, blame it on my youth
If only just for you, I did exist, blame it on my youth
I believed in everything
Like a child of three
You meant more than anything
You meant all the world to me

If, you were on my mind, all night and day, blame it on my youth
If, I forgot to eat, and sleep and pray, blame it on my youth
If I cried a little bit, when first I learned the truth
Don’t blame it on my heart, blame it on my youth

– Jamie Cullum

I hope I still have my youth to be blamed for. Perhaps this is what people say as absolute stupidity. First time I heard this song, it went deep to my heart. As maybe it’s true. Nothing to regret about everything that I’ve done because all of them are just parts of long processes to achieve the higher level, or maybe in this case is what we call as “maturity”. Sometimes a child might have a very bright mind and more knowledge that the adults but he is still a child. There are things that can only be learned as people get older. This convinces me that tomorrow I’ll be better, considering I have one more day past by and with that I again add something to my bank of experiences and knowledge and wisdom or whatever you call it. I guess this supports what we know as law of balance, because actually we never lost anything as by losing something we get a new lesson. And since every event is unique, it might need unique sacrifice to each of them. One thing I know about sacrifice, it has never tasted good in the beginning….. But the harder the start, the happier I got when I touched the finish line. Beh…. I sound very desperate…. It might indeed be true…. I have been lost for months, running away from my own God, running away from myself, running away from everything that has been known as part of my life. I was being very arrogant and felt superior towards everything. I still remember perfectly how my math teacher told me that I didn’t have enough confidence for myself, but what is happening right now is the opposite. I remember my friend once told me that I was someone with gifts and talents yet always put myself as a second person compared to anybody else. Now…. I really miss those things. I want to stop all the thoughts in my mind which telling me that everybody else is not as great as me. Because I know that indeed I am weak and I need everyone to keep me from falling… As Paul the Apostle once said,“…. for my strength is made perfect in weakness.” I want to be weak in order to be strong again.

-L

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 25, 2009 in Songs and Lyrics

 

Leave a Reply

 
