RSS

Name and Nicknames

14 Dec

I was named Lia Andriyani, and according to my mom, the name itself was given by my uncle. Once I asked her what does it mean, she told me because the day when I arrived in this world I brought so much happiness to the family. Well, I didn’t really take it seriously, because my parents didn’t really familiar with bahasa and the words in bahasa, so I thought they couldn’t really know the meaning. But well, few days ago I googled my own name and search for its meaning. Here what I got:

” The Greek name Lia means – bringer of good news ” (quoted from http://www.babynamescountry.com/meanings/Lia.html)

So, I guess my mom was right. Haha…. This makes me thinking about the names and the importance of the names. And also makes me recalling all the nicknames I’ve gotten so far by my friends and my family.

1.       Doraemon

Well, I got this one when I was in primary school. The silly part is, this was actually initiated by my teacher. Well, I was short, round, and some people did think I was funny. So there I was, another Doraemon from the real life.

2.       Pam Pam

This one, I got it from my friend during junior high. It was first given by my friend sitting next to me. According to him, I reminded him of a fictive character on the TV show that was stupid or at least look stupid, and of coz fat. At first I was actually uncomfortable with that, but well, what could I say. This nickname was actually more popular than my real name.  And sometimes they made a jingle using this nickname (don’t worry, it wasn’t like I was bullied by them anyway. So I guess I should just have fun with it.)

3.       Baby Huey

Okay, this one was absolutely silly. Somehow some friends found out my mom’s name (to be exact, surname) is Hiu. And again with the reason I was so fat that time, they started to call me “baby huey” after a cartoon character with the same name. And I remember the one who almost always uses this name to call me is Dian!!!!! (I will remember you as the one who started this mess!!) She is a very good friend of mine since junior high. (reminds me of years we haven’t met since our graduation in high school).

4.       Mamon

The last nickname I got from my schools environment. It was given in my second year in high school (or third year I don’t really remember). Well, at first it was supposed to be the abbreviation of “mami emon” (mother Emon). Referring to my junior in high school named “Emon”. He was the only student I had always sent with to represent my school in math competitions. So friends made fun of us and started to call me with that name. However, along the way the meaning of the name itself became more and more creative. Started with “mama monster”, “mami pokemon”, and I don’t know what else until I was tired of listening to every meaning of that simple 5 letter name. I was even given a present which was a miniature of Pikachu by a friend of mine in my bday. -_-#

5.       Minnie

It seems like everyone is always giving me nickname everywhere I go. During freshmen orientation held by Indonesian society here in NTU, each group had to present their own creativity (usually performing a play) on the last day of 3-day orientation activity. So there I was, chosen to perform as Minnie mouse. *sigh*. And with the reason I’m still unsure until now, most of the people watching the play remember me with this name and forgetting my real name.

6.       Dhedhe

The forever nickname in my family. Haha…. I am the youngest child in my little family, so they always call me “dhedhe” ever since I can remember. Hmm…. And I also think that no one in my neighborhood knows what my real name is. Haha…. Because everyone is calling me with this nickname, and it would really be weird if my family started to call me with my real name everyday. Wew… to be honest, I can’t even imagine it. I am happy they call me with that. And would say no for any changes.

7.       Hiu Lia Andriyani

Okay, this one is actually not a nickname. Instead, it is actually my name appears in my passport and my student pass. I PUT ALL THE BLAME ON INDONESIAN IMMIGRATION OFFICE!!!!! How on earth they can put that Hiu as my FIRST NAME instead of my LAST NAME!!!!!! This HUGE mistake started when I first made my passport. Back then, every name appears in passport had to use family name, which means, they needed to look at your birth certificate and see whom you belong to (i.e your dad or your mom’s name) and just take whatever their last name is and plug that to your real name. and TADAAA!!!! Here comes your real extended name. However, I have no idea who was that brat who created this huge error and put my mom’s surname as my FIRST name instead of my LAST name. So everyone thought that my first name is HIU LIA and my surname is ANDRIYANI. GOSH!!!!!  And later on my degree would be addressed for HIU LIA ANDRIYANI. *sigh*. Well, I start to like this name anyway. It sounds more unique than my real name. (Hiu is how we call a “shark” in bahasa Indonesia). =p

So many names represent one same person. It was me, it is me, and for some reasons I believe that it will always be me no matter how you call me. I appreciate every name given to me, even the one which I think was no good at all. For me, when people started to give me nicknames, it can only mean I have a place in their hearts. =p

So, as quoted from the famous Shakespeare:

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.”

-L

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 14, 2008 in ShoutOut

 

Leave a Reply

 
